TFF: Ep. 1 The Conception of Inception

**Waring I am constantly updating my posts** (Which is why I spelled it Icetion my first go around on the title.)

Before we get into this, I have looked into this story and it has multiple sources and all will be linked, eventually. In case you haven’t noticed, we live in the future, seriously things talked about in books are becoming passe, so get with the times.

We have all seen Inception, come on your grandmother saw that movie. If you haven’t, I really don’t care about you.

This movie portrays a not to distant future where people could steal each others secrets through their dreams. However, there is this super secret special move called inception, which basically means to plant an idea in someone and make the person think it is their own. Fun fact, that word inception has been around since the 15th century, sleeping well at night? But I diverge, wait what was I talking about?

The future; so on December 8, 2011 it was reported that Boson University and ATR Computational Neuroscience Laboratories had been working together on a project. Their findings, the eyes used with a functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) system could be decoded and then used to “incept” someone with a visual task. Hey, turns out if you play an image over and over you remember it, surprise guys. Seriously though I am getting nervous myself, but what ever, it is a movie.

Okay, so let’s keep looking into this Science journal, wait is that italics, that means, “oh sh*t” that Science Journal. Did things just get real? So we now have actual doctors of science, we’re talking PhD’s working on things from a downright creepy movie. Okay I am on board, lets take one last look into what these professors think some uses could be.

Takeo Watanabe, the spearhead and lead author on the project listed a bunch of great tasks. Teaching adults and kids alike via this neurofeedback, interesting so I could learn anything through this system, sign me up. If you are like me you think there has to be a catch, there is always a catch. Yes this is creepy but lets just up the level of creep, just a wee bit. Then boom there it is, there is the second “oh sh*t” moment. Watanabe, you sneaky snake you almost hooked me.

“We found that subjects were not aware of what was to be learned while behavioral data obtained before and after the neurofeedback training showed that subjects’ visual performance improved specifically for the target orientation, which was used in the neurofeedback training,”

And I am out! Don’t believe me? That is fine, you’re probably being incepted as we speak. Wait, what is that Emmy award winning public service announcement thingy, I think NBC does it, but whatever. I look forward to meeting you in the future or my dreams or both, hell at this point which is which.

Wait before I go did you know the old man in Inception is named Ken Watanabe? Me neither.

Incepted

Leave a Reply

